top of page

C'est quoi ton Non


C’est quoi ton Nom ( say-qua-to-no)

What is your name, this is the first thing I have learned in French here, though we have not started classes yet. However, I’m glad this was one of the first things I learned because this question is so important when you are meeting new people. Once you learn someone’s name, you can then get to know more about what makes them who they are. What makes it interesting here, at Capernwray, is that you have so many different cultures coming together and you get to learn and understand more about them. What I love most about this is that though we all have different cultures we are all here for the same goal/reason, for God. This past week and a half, I have had the pleasure of getting to know the staff here at Capernwray, and their cultures, and I can tell that it’s going to be a good year here.

However, with meeting all these new people and helping around the campus I have not had much time to myself and to be in the Word as I would have like, and if you know me you know I am really independent and really like my “me time”. This week I also feel like there has been such a spiritual battle that I have been going through because I have not been nearly as patient with people as I should have been. This has also affected the way I have been able to work as a team with the other team members. Thankfully, on our off day, today, I was able to sneak away from everything and spend some time alone in the Word. I looked up different verses about patience, wisdom, forgiveness, and restoration because I felt that these were the topics that I was struggling in this week and I really needed to go to the Word for help in this. One of the verses that stood out to me the most was Psalm 40:1 “I waited patiently for the Lord, and he turned to me and heard my cry for help.” Once I read this verse everything I was thinking about and worrying about just stopped because this reminded me that God is with me and he hears the prayers that we pray and that I should not give up. Also, that I need to keep praying for patience and God will deliver it because he hears our cries. Another passage I read was Luke 15:11-24, the parable of the prodigal son, which I have read so many times but today it’s like I was reading it again for the first time. I’m really glad I read this parable over again because it reminded me how God is always there for us we just have to come running to him. It made me remember that through my troubles God is still there and I am glad that I was able to find the time to “come running to Him.” During my off time I also found some different christian books that I thought would help me in my search. The book I liked the most is called My Utmost for His Highest, I went through the index in the back about different subjects and I found some pages about difficult things. I really took comfort in what these pages talked about. One quote that stuck out to me the most was “You must work out what God has worked in,” this reminded me that my spiritual battle is apart of God’s plan and I need to be able to work it out by seeking comfort through him.

On another note, all travels to Canada went well, though we had a little hiccup at the border, and Bayleigh and I were able to arrive safely Sunday, August 26th. Since then we have been able to help the staff set up and get things ready for a conference group that stayed here and now we are getting things ready for the rest of the students who will be coming Sunday. Once they come classes will be starting, and there will be more French words/phrases and other updates to come!

Pray for:

Patience and Strength

If you need:

Patience: Psalm 40:1, Psalm 37:7, Colossians 1:11

Wisdom: James 1:5-8

Forgiveness: Colossians 3:13

Restoration: Luke 15:11-24

bottom of page