top of page

zone de comfort


Zone de comfort

Many of us have comfort zones, and it’s actually something that can really hinder us from doing God’s work. I know for myself I have let my comfort zone hinder me as I have always been a pretty introverted person. Well, this can be really hard as a Christian because God calls us to go and make disciples and it can be hard to talk to people if you are introverted. However, God has really been trying to knock this comfort zone down and it’s pretty cool how much more extroverted I have become in my time here.Something that I never saw myself doing was getting up in front of people and being a leader in that way, I’ve always been more of a “being the scenes kind of person.” Being here I’ve stood up in front of people more than I’ve ever had to and I done a few leadership things however, God gave me a special role a couple of weeks ago to really become a leader in front of others.

So near the beginning of this semester we were told about how we were all going to be planning and hosting a youth retreat for the youth in the nearby community. I had heard a little bit about it from staff and others and about the different roles and I just assumed I would take one of the more behind the scenes role because that’s what I’m more comfortable with and what I like to do. Then the day came when we were announced our roles and the first role that was going to me announced were the two hosts and in my head I was thinking about how I would definitely not be doing that role. Then, so my surprise, they announced that I and another student, named Ethan, were going to be hosting. Well when I heard this I was pretty scared as I had never done anything like this and how much pressure this role would come with. We would be very big role models to the youth and I was so scared for that responsibility and I would tell Ethan all the time how nervous I was, haha. But he would always tell me that it was all going to work out and I shouldn’t be nervous.

So as the weeks went on we spent time planning and preparing everything and figuring out everything we were going to say. Then, it was time for the youth retreat,, the first weekend in February, and I was so nervous. I prayed that God would help me be a Godly leader to these youth and that he would be glorified through me. I also found it so cool how much God was taking me out of my comfort zone. Well, during the weekend Ethan and I hosted everything and everything worked out really well. We had to do a few things at a moment's notice but we were always able to work it out. We also got the pleasure of leading a small group which was such a cool experience for me as I have always been a student in the group and never actually lead one myself. It also made me think back a lot to when I was in middle school or my early years of high school and I could barely go up and give a presentation in class, and now here I am in front of 24 youth helping host a retreat. It’s so cool how much God grows us and gets us out of our comfort zone to do His work.

With this being said, I would like to propose a challenge. Do you have a comfort zone that hinders you from doing God’s work? If so I would encourage you to break out of that comfort zone and doing whatever God calls you to do. If you can’t think of anything I encourage you to just pray and ask God if there is anything hindering you from doing what He has called you to do.

bottom of page