top of page

Joyeux Noël et Bonne Année

Joyeux Noël et Bonne Année

This is how the francophones say Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. SO for this blog post I just wanted to do an update about everything that I did over the Christmas Break. The first cool thing that we did is that one of the churches still had a youth group event but this time it was an evangelism project. When we got to the church we split into groups and in my group it was just me and an older man, who knew English very well. So we went with our groups and drove into the heart of the town we were in to the Christmas market. There we walked up and down the streets inviting people to the Christmas service at the church and sharing the gospel. This was very different since most people spoke french and I did not but the man that was in my group knew what he was doing, you could tell this wasn’t his first time evangelising and in fact he did it quite often. As we walked down the streets we stopped almost every person and he would talk to them for a while and then invite them and they would either take the invite or not. After he was done talking with them and they would keep walking he would tell me about what they would talk about, most of them were not from the area or others just rejected everything once they heard anything about religion but it was still good. Then we went and talked to one guy who was sitting on a park bench alone and it turned out that he only spoke english so that meant it was my time to talk! I was pretty excited and started talking to him and inviting to church but then he told us about how he wasn’t religious and he only believed in mother nature. Now that took me for a surprise, I had no clue what to say to him but the man with me just kept talking to him and had some good points and I would add some other things in. In the end I’m not really sure if we made him question his beliefs but I keep praying for him and I know that God will work in his life.

For most of the rest of Christmas Break Bayleigh and I hopped from house to house which was really fun. We got to get to know the families in the church a little bit better and it was so fun! Every time we would go to a new house I was a little scared just because sometimes it can be different to stay in someone’s home that you do not know very well but everytime I ended up having so much fun. During this time we went ice skating, that was cool since I hadn’t really ice skated before, we also went sledding, and hiking, and we played a lot of board games, and we played with a lot of little children. In the end I had a very good Christmas Break and I really enjoyed being able to get to know the families better and have fun with them.

However, something that I also found really cool about this Christmas Break was that I seemed to be more focused on God. I didn’t have to rush around worrying about getting people presents and getting things ready for the holidays, instead I got to relax and just enjoy my time in Quebec and focus more on God’s word and the message that this holiday season brings.

bottom of page